About Us

Bangiya Gramin Vikash Bank was formed, as corresponding new RRB, through notification in the Official Gazette of Govt of India dated 21.02.2007, consequent upon amalgamation of five constituent RRBs Viz. Mallabhum Gramin Bank, Gaur Gramin Bank, Murshidabad Gramin Bank, Nadia Gramin Bank and Sagar Gramin Bank in West Bengal. The command area of the Bank stretches to 12 districts of West Bengal viz. Malda, Murshidabad, Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur, Nadia, South 24 Parganas, North 24 Parganas, Bankura, Purulia, Purba Midnapur, Paschim Midnapur and Jhargram.

The amalgamation was made in the public interest, in order to serve better the needs of development of the economy in conformity with national policy and objectives and for matters connected there with or incidental there to.

The Bank has a network of 587 branches and 11Regional Offices spread across the command area as on 31st March 2019.

The shareholding pattern of the Bank as on 31.3.2019 is as follows. (Rs. in ‘000)

Share Holders Issued
/ Called up
Paid up % of Share Capital
Government of India 3219011 3219011 50
Government of West Bengal 965703 965703 15
United Bank Of India 2253308 2253308 35
Total 6438022 6438022 100

Additional Links